Ray Noland: Blago / Banksy –

First, I made the following comment at Huffington post, you can see the article I commented on here –

Second, here is my embellished comment: I am / was a big fan of all the Blago/Banksy graffiti that were sprayed all around Chicago – and I covered it extensively in 3+ Posts on my blog “The Structure of Thought™ – this is the way it has always been®”. It’s my opinion that you cannot patent a “style” of art ( you can invent a style, however, so that something can be “Banksy-esque” so to speak, even tho he didn’t “invent” it ) just like a medical or big pharma company can’t “Patent” a gene or a chromosome – even tho the law says you can. Just because it is legal, doesn’t make it right.

That being said, the whole point of Art in its highest calling IMO is to generate positive Thought Structure™, discussion, and push society towards enlightenment. If you go back and read my posts on Ray’s Art it shows the noblest aspect to what the purpose of ANY art can do – call attention to issues, our culture, the flaws in our society, our misplaced values and dysfunctional aspects of the Pop Culture we have created. That is powerful, how one individual can help push society towards the positive.

If you think about it, one good idea can change everything. Hopefully for the better.

Check out the Blago/Banksy entries I talked about here & here – there’s at least 3 updates, with 2 being in the first link, showing pictures from Wicker Park, Bucktown, the Skylark fire pic with some shots of me warming myself next to the cold, empty fire that Blago is trying to start… pretty fun stuff. Check them out…

peace!

