The Dutch own goal, plus all the other odd plays so far in this World Cup – I agree… the own goal is most unfortunate. However, I also think that the BALL with all it’s changes and the players being somewhat unfamiliar with it ( why did they change the ball again, $omeone tell me please? ) is so unpredictable that we are going to be seeing many more snafus like own goals, goalie blunders, etc. The good news is that they all have to deal with it collectively, but you can tell that all the players are in the process of trying to figure out how this ball flies and its characteristics.

I don’t know if that lends itself to the biggest sporting event in the world… if I were coaching, I’d just tell my team to fire away from any angle, regardless… it’ll probably karoom in somehow, or the goalie will mishandle it… this new ball, in my opinion, has taken away the “sharpness” of the highest caliber play making we all have come to expect from this tournament.

I think the Danish defender is laughing, and rightly so, at the absurdity of the situation. What else can you do..?

https://blameblakeart.wordpress.com
More on World Cup 2010
Read the Article at HuffingtonPost

